GE15: Batu Kawan BN in high spirits, ready to face ‘giant’

BUKIT MERTAJAM: Batu Kawan Barisan Nasional is in high spirits as coalition members gather at the Juru multipurpose hall here.

Around 300 members from Umno, MCA and MIC vowed their unwavering support for their candidate on Sunday (Nov 6) for GE15.

Batu Kawan MCA and Barisan chief Datuk Tan Lee Huat, who is Barisan’s candidate for the Batu Kawan constituency, thanked his supporters for their high spirits.

“We are a strong team. Since the nomination day on Saturday (Nov 5), the team’s spirits have been high.

“If I am given the mandate, I will create job opportunities for youths as well as help the aged.

“We will keep up the spirit and fight until we win the seat,” he said.

Penang MCA chairman Datuk Tan Teik Cheng said Barisan will fight till the end to win the Batu Kawan parliamentary seat.

“Our candidate is honest and vowed to provide better livelihood to residents in Batu Kawan.

“He sacrificed his time and always had the people’s best interests in mind.

“Besides, he is fluent in three languages – Bahasa Malaysia, Mandarin and English.

“Although we are contesting against the ‘giant’- Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow, we have confidence and faith that we can win the seat and contribute a seat to Barisan,” he said.

Penang Barisan chairman Datuk Musa Sheikh Fadzir said that Umno, MCA and MIC must work together to win the Batu Kawan seat.

“Tan (Lee Huat) is a local boy.

“Although we lost the seat in the previous election, he stayed and did not leave Batu Kawan.

“We don’t want to be overconfident; I believe the people can decide for themselves,” he said.

Also present were Batu Kawan Umno chief Datuk Mohd Noor Ahmad and Batu Kawan MIC chief S. Ramalingam.

Batu Kawan will see a five-cornered fight with Lee facing Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow from Pakatan Harapan, Ong Chin Wen (Warisan), Wong Chia Zhen (Perikatan Nasional) and Lee Ah Liang (Parti Rakyat Malaysia).

As of Sept 15, Batu Kawan had 88,864 voters, with the Chinese making up 53.9% or 47,944 voters. There are also 20,393 Malay voters and 19,765 Indians, while the other 762 are of other races.

There are 13 parliamentary seats up for grabs in Penang – six on the island and seven on the mainland.